And I will wait upon the LORD, that hideth his face from the house of Jacob, and I will look for him. Isaiah 8:17

If you are looking for messages about the Europe Area Humanitarian Mission, go to

Thursday, February 2, 2012

The Ten Trials of Abraham

1.  King tries to kill Abraham at his birth.
2.  Abraham is locked in a prison for 10 years, then thrown into a fire.
3.  Abraham is commanded to leave his home.
4.  Famine in the land.
5.  Sarah is taken by Pharaoh.
6.  The battle of the kings.
7.  The vision between the pieces.
8.  Circumcision.
9.  Ishmael and Hagar sent away.
10. Abraham is commanded to sacrifice Isaac.

This list of the ten trials of Abraham comes from a really old book called, "Pirke de Rabbi Eliezer."
To read the full text of this book, go here.
"We should learn from this story that receiving the promises does not entail being protected from moments when those promises seem to be called into question."
                             -Terence Fretheim (in the New Interpreter's Bible, 1994).

No comments:

Post a Comment